top of page

Mi Primer Mes en Barcelona!


I’ve been here a month now and even though I know it’s true, I could swear it hasn’t been longer than a second. However, during this time I’ve managed to get a pretty great routine going. Mondays and Wednesdays I don’t have class till the afternoon, leaving me plenty of time to find myself at my favorite café, Hammock Juice Station. Lucky for me, it happens to be only a couple doors down from my apartment. More often than not, I am the only customer in the café which has allowed me to get to know the owners and employees well. When I’m not chatting with them, I am sitting in a hammock, reading my book, and sipping a latte. These are my favorite mornings.

Tuesdays and Thursdays I have class from 9am to 4:15pm with few breaks throughout. These days are long, but not all bad. Before class, if I have time, I stop at a nearby market and get a croissant (typically one filled with Nutella… I swear there is nothing better). In the evenings after class, I come home with my roommates and we have “fam dinners” where we all cook together, talk about our days and plan what we are going to do over the weekend.

Friday through Sunday I don’t have classes, so I’ve mostly spent the weekends exploring the city. Two weeks ago I went on my first weekend trip to Zurich, Switzerland. It was beautiful, and freezing, but such a worthwhile adventure. Myself and three friends spent a day on a bus tour that took us to various towns near Zurich and ultimately brought us to Mount Titlis, where we took gondolas to the very top. The views were breathtaking and definitely worth the numb fingers! When we weren’t on the tour, we were devouring delicious cheese fondue and seeking out the best chocolate shops Zurich has to offer.

While I wait to go on my next weekend trip (to Morocco, WOW) I’ll be spending my time discovering different areas of Barcelona, seeking out more of this city’s to-die-for food, and swinging in hammocks.

Besos,

Olivia


bottom of page